Selective News Items

DanceEast announces Rural Retreat in 2013 – The future is now

DanceEast logo

Press Release: 4 July 2012

DanceEast announces Rural Retreat in 2013 – The future is now

Respect the past, herald the future but concentrate on the present
Ninette de Valois

Since 2003, DanceEast has been producing the internationally respected Rural Retreats. These think tanks have been bringing together leaders and future leaders from the world of ballet and dance to look at key issues facing dance and its leadership.

In January 2013, 28 artistic leaders from around the world will come together at the Jerwood DanceHouse in Ipswich to discuss shared issues and concerns. Already, themes are emerging that will be probed during their time together, with a focus on global themes that are challenging all directors, of legacy, relevance and the training of the next generation of dancers, in these ever challenging times.

Assis Carreiro, Artistic Director & Chief Executive of DanceEast said ‘In the decade since they were conceived, these Retreats have become key events in the diaries of future and existing Artistic Directors, and there is a real thirst to come together to share issues and concerns.’

These Retreats have been the first global opportunity for existing and future Artistic Directors to come together to share their issues and concerns in an environment that is conducive to open discussion and debate along with guest speakers from the world of business, sport and the arts to interface with the dance leaders and to share experiences and allow opportunities to think ‘out of the box’ about the place of dance in today’s society.

Guest speakers during the weekend will include Sarah Weir, Chief Executive, The Legacy List; Sir Peter Jonas, Retired Intendant of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich; Jason Beechey, Rector of the Palucca University of Dance, Dresden; Amanda Britton, Head of Academic Studies, Rambert School. The sessions will be facilitated by Jeanette Siddall, Freelance Dance Consultant and Brendan Keaney, Director, Greenwich Dance.

Accommodation is being generously provided by the Salthouse Harbour Hotel on the Ipswich waterfront.

Notes to Editors:

Founded in 1983 and gaining National Dance Agency status in 1994, DanceEast has grown from strength to strength, maintaining its commitment to the rural communities of East Anglia whilst developing national and international programmes. Based at the Jerwood DanceHouse, DanceEast brings world-class dance to the East of England, presenting an eclectic programme of performances, widening the experience of audiences and bringing a new and invigorated audience to dance. As well working with regional dance artists, established choreographers and renowned companies, DanceEast encourages emerging artists, providing a framework of training, support and performance opportunities.

Since setting up the first Rural Retreat in 2003, DanceEast Director Assis Carreiro, has brought together leading directors from major ballet and dance companies and schools from all over the world and the Rural Retreat think tanks have become internationally recognised as an invaluable forum for sharing ideas and discussing the future of dance and developing dance leaders for the future. Guest speakers have included Charles Handy, Gail Rebuck, David Lan and Nicholas Hytner, to name but a few.

Artistic Leaders confirmed

Reid Anderson – Stuttgart Ballet (Germany)

Mark Baldwin – Rambert Dance Company (UK)

Adolphe Binder – Goteborg Ballet (Sweden)

Matthew Bourne – New Adventures (UK)

Ted Brandsen – Dutch National Ballet (Holland)

Honne Dohrmann – Oldenburg Dance Theatre ( Germany)

Thomas Edur – Estonian National Ballet (Estonia)

Christopher Hampson – Scottish Ballet (UK)

Bruno Heynderickx – Carte Blanche (Norway)

Nikolai Hubbe – Royal Danish Ballet (Denmark)

Andre Lewis – Royal Winnipeg Ballet (Canada)

Paul Lightfoot – Netherlands Dance Theatre (Holland)

Ingrid Lorentzen – (Norwegian National Ballet (Norway)

Cathy Marston – Berne Ballet (Switzerland)

David McAllister – Australian Ballet (Australia)

Mikko Nissinen – Boston Ballet (USA)

David Nixon – Northern Ballet (UK)

Kevin O’Hare – The Royal Ballet (UK)

Johannes Ohmann – Royal Swedish Ballet (Sweden)

Madeleine Onne – Hong Kong Ballet (Hong Kong)

Krzystof Pastor – Polish National Ballet (Poland)

Zijiao Qu – Liaoning Ballet (China)

Tamara Rojo – ENB (UK)

Janek Schergen – Singapore Dance Theatre (Singapore)

Christian Spuck – Zurich Ballet (Switzerland)

Christopher Stowell – Oregon Ballet Theatre (USA)

Aaron Watkin – Dresden – Semperoper (Germany)

Stanton Welsh – Houston Ballet (USA)

DanceTabs Contributors

Regular contributors…

Claudia Bauer | Foteini Christofilopoulou | Gay Morris | Graham Watts | Heather Desaulniers | Jann Parry | Josephine Leask | Karen Greenspan | Lynette Halewood | Marina Harss | Oksana Khadarina | Siobhan Murphy | Susanna Sloat | Valerie Lawson | Bruce Marriott (Ed)

The above list is composed of those whose work we feature regularly and have generally contributed in the last few months.

>> Complete list of DanceTabs Contributors and more info.

DanceTabs Tweets